Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation Review

Hi everyone! This product actually caught my eye at CVS a few weeks ago but I couldn’t justify paying $12.99 for a Covergirl foundation. I didn’t have a good experience with Covergirl so I wasn’t going to spend that much to try it out. I was at Target and I saw that they were priced at $4.99… then it came a must have item since that wouldn’t hurt my wallet if I didn’t like it.

I did some more research about this foundation, and another blogger figured that since Covergirl is owned by P&G, it was a repackaged version of Max Factor FaceFinity 3 in 1, which claims the same thing. Max Factor isn’t sold in the United States anymore, and maybe this was their way of getting this product released in the US market. I’m still not sure if there was a formulation change when they released it with the Covergirl labeling, but I will look into that.

This is what Covergirl claims about their 3 in 1 formulation:

  • Lasting power of primer
  • Coverage of concealer
  • Blendability of foundation in one


Initially what caught my attention was this foundation comes with a pump! Its great for managing how much product you use and keeps everything sanitary.

The shade I got was 857 Golden Tan which was a tad too dark and a bit too yellow toned for my skin but nothing a little translucent powder, highlighter, blush, and bronzer couldn’t fix. The foundation is not too thin & runny like Maybelline Fit Me and its not very thick like Revlon Colorstay, probably the perfect consistency for me. There is SPF 20 in the foundation, so it might not be flash photography friendly but great for an everyday foundation.

You all know the condition of my skin, I have a lot of redness and scarring from acne, and I still have minor breakouts. Depending how you apply it will determine how much coverage you can get. I like applying the foundation with a dense small powder brush like the MAC 109 Brush because it gave me medium coverage with one layer, and applying a second gave me full coverage without looking cakey or overdone. I did find that if I applied it with a damp sponge or my fingers, the coverage was light, and I can still see redness peaking through.

The finish once dried is matte. It definitely reminds me of Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet Foundation, the finish and how it feels is exactly like it. For those with dry skin, it might accentuate any dry patches on your skin. For the oily skin people like myself, the foundation held up very well! I wore it for 6 hours without a primer, and only the bridge of my nose had very little oily look to it, nothing a blot sheet or powder couldn’t hide, and using a primer underneath could help prevent it. It did not oxidize, it did not fade, and it was simply amazing to me. I did try different powders to set the foundation, and each one had the same end result which meant the foundation was doing its job.

I’m in love with this foundation other than the shade I got, but with a variety of shades to choose from, I’m sure I’ll find the correct one for me! I got the correct shade I needed, which was a shade down, #855 Soft Honey! I know Rite Aid, CVS and Walgreens has this foundation for $10.99-$12.99 but I found mine at Target for $4.99 and if you have a Covergirl $1 manufacturer coupon, that justs lowers the cost!

This is just my honest opinion about it, and I hope this post was helpful to those looking for an inexpensive drugstore foundation that works well with oily skin. If there are any products you’d like me to test out, please let me know!

XOXO,
Steven

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation Review

  1. rosie tapia says:

    great review

  2. Lisa says:

    You are so lucky! I went to a few Targets right after you instagrammed it & all of mine had it for $9.79!! D: Still cheaper than CVS/Walgreens though, so I picked up Soft Honey. I actually like it so far, thanks for the review! :D

Leave a Reply

