MAC Pro Longwear Foundation Review

Hi everyone! Since 2007, I’ve tried just about every MAC foundation available: Face & Body, Studio Fix Liquid/Powder, Mineralize Satinfinish, Matchmaster, Mineralize SPF 15, Studio Tech, Select SPF 15, Studio Sculpt. Until recently, the only 3 MAC foundations I’ve kept in my personal kit were Studio Fix Liquid, Studio Fix Powder and Mineralize SPF 15. I was looking for a new foundation and a good friend of mine suggested I give MAC Pro Longwear Liquid Foundation a try.


I was reluctant at first because the first time I tried Pro Longwear, it gave me a bad outbreak of acne. Now thinking about it, it probably was my moisturizer and lack of primer. This time around, I made a real effort in trying Pro Longwear since my skin has gotten a lot better with a skincare routine and I was pleasantly surprised with my results.

MAC describes Pro Longwear Foundation as:
A long-wear foundation that gives up to 15 hours of wear in any environmental condition. Lightweight and creamy, applies smoothly to provide sheer to medium coverage. Even in hot and humid conditions, controls oil to keep skin fresh, natural and flawless. Provides everyday SPF protection. 

Before applying the foundation, I made sure my skin was properly moisturized and used a foundation primer. I tried this foundation with different primers and ended up the same results. I found it easiest to apply with a 190 brush, or any regular flat foundation brush.

Like the description, depending on how you apply the foundation will determine the coverage you will get. I was able to get a medium coverage with minimal effort from a foundation brush and blending with a sponge. I’ve read that some people have experienced dryness and the foundation looking cakey, but in my case it was not a problem.

The real question everyone has about this foundation is: “Is it truly a long lasting foundation? And if so, how long does it last?”. In my case, it was a long lasting foundation. Does it last 15 hours like the description says? No, but I wore it for about 9-10 hours and it looked great with just a bit of powder to blot.

Is it worth the $29.50? Yes. It’s so good that I’ve said goodbye to Studio Fix Liquid for my everyday foundation, and it’s been a must have in my personal makeup kit since 2007. Pro Longwear just gives me the perfect coverage that looks radiant and very natural, while ensuring that my foundation is worry free with this long wear formulation.

I hope this is helpful to those in the market for a new foundation. If there’s any dupes for this foundation or another foundation you think I should try, let me know!

XOXO,
Steven

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

