03/31/2011: My Friend Christina’s Prom Makeup

Hi everyone! Today was my friend Christina’s junior prom and I did her makeup as well as some of her friends. I didn’t get too many good shots of her makeup because I was so busy but I managed to get a couple and hopefully it can give you an idea of what I did.


Products Used:

  • Smashbox Photofinish Primer (Original Formula)
  • MAC Studio Fix Liquid Foundation in NC30
  • MAC Fix+ Spray
  • Make Up For Ever HD Powder
  • Chanel Double Perfection Powder in #10 “Vanilla”
  • MAC Powder Blush in “Sweet As Cocoa”
  • Salon Perfect: Perfect Eyebrow Defining Kit
  • MAC Select Cover Concealer in NC25
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Stila Eyeshadow (From the “Pro Artist Palette no. 1”) in “Kitten”
  • Urban Decay Eyeshadow (From the “Naked 2 Palette”) in “Tease”
  • Napoleon Perdis Colour Disc Eyeshadow in #43 (Matte White)
  • Wet N Wild 6 Pan Eyeshadow Palette in “Lust”
  • Lancome Artliner in “Black”
  • Yves Saint Laurent Faux Cils Mascara in “Noir”
  • NYX Pencil Lip Liner in “Natural”
  • MAC Lipstick in “Faux”
  • MAC Plushglass in “Fashion Fanatic”

Step By Step:

  1. After a freshly cleansed face, apply moisturizer and primer. In this case, my friend already applied her own moisturizer and I used Smashbox Photofinish for foundation primer.
  2. Taking a pointed foundation brush, I applied MAC Studio Fix in NC30 and blending with a beauty blender sponge damed slightly with MAC Fix+ Spray
  3. Taking a large powder brush, I applied MUFE HD Powder to set the foundation.
  4. Taking an angled brush, I used the Salon Perfect: Perfect Eyebrow Defining Kit to fill in the brow shape. I used the darker shade of brown to define the end of the eyebrows and filled the remaining portion with the lighter shade of brown for a gradient natural effect.
  5. Taking a flat concealer brush, I took MAC Select Cover Up Concealer in NC25 and cleaned up the eyebrow shape and any imperfections.
  6. Taking any flat eyeshadow brush, I applied Urban Decay Primer Potion onto the eyelids.
  7. With an small eyeshadow shading brush, I applied the eyeshadow “Kitten” from the Stila Pro Artist Palette no. 1 onto the eyelids.
  8. With a tapered blending brush, I applied the eyeshadow “Tease” from the Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette, blending into the crease.
  9. With a flat eyeshadow shading brush, I applied Napoleon Perdis Colour Disc Eyeshadow in #43 and blended with a MAC 217 Brush.
  10. With a small pencil brush, I took a mixture of the purple and dark plum eyeshadows from the matte side of Wet N Wild’s “Lust” Palette, and applied very lightly at the outer corner and blended with a tapered blending brush.
  11. Draw eyeliner to desired thickness, in this case my friend had a thin winged liner using Lancome Artliner in Noir
  12. After curling lashes, I applied some false lashes with Duo Dark Tone Glue. If desired, you can use mascara to blend the false lashes and real eyelashes.
  13. Taking an angled blush brush, I applied MAC Powder Blush in “Sweet As Cocoa”.
  14. With a small powder brush, I applied Chanel Double Perfection Powder in #10 “Vanilla” above the cheekbones to soften the blush and as a subtle highlight.
  15. Before I applied lipstick, I used NYX Lipliner in Natural, then used MAC Lipstick in “Faux” and topping it off with MAC Plushglass in “Fashion Fanatic”.
  16. The final step was just spraying MAC Fix+ all over and the look is complete.

A big thank you to Christina for trusting me to do her makeup with whatever products I felt necessary. I loved the outcome of what my friend and I created for her and I hope she had an amazing time at her junior prom, she looked absolutely gorgeous!

I hope this post gives ideas to those who are looking into doing their prom makeup this year. Let me know what you all think about this look!

XOXO,
Steven

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

