Personal Update and Review on the Rimmel Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation

Hi everyone! I know it’s been awhile since my last post but I wanted to give a mini update and then on to the review! I’ve been swamped with so much new responsibilities with my job, finishing up my last year of school and doing makeup gigs on the side. I miss blogging and I hope to do more post and tweak some of the reviews I have saved. For more quick updates you can follow me on Instagram at the same username @steveobui.

Now onto the review of the new Rimmel Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation! I saw Judy from itsjudytime on YouTube review the foundation and since I have the same skintype & similar skintone, I thought why not see if it really keeps me matte!

I picked up the same shade which was 203 True Beige. I will say the color selection is lacking with only 5 available and I really hope that Rimmel will decide in the future to expand their shades to deeper tones and more yellow based undertones or at least neutral based undertones to fit a boarder spectrum of consumers. I am a NC35/37 in MAC shades for reference and I found this foundation to have a pink undertone which wasn’t a perfect match but I worked with it and it didn’t look too bad after highlighting, blush, & bronzer/contouring.

The texture of the foundation reminded me of the Tarte Amazonian Clay Foundation and I love that it felt incredibly light & soft  with a medium and buildable to full coverage. I found it best applied with my fingers and I would go back with a Beauty Blender to smooth everything out. I tried with the Beauty Blender alone and a few different brushes and I felt I was using more product for the same finish.

I did moisturize well since most matte foundations will cling onto dry patches and I used a silicone based primer underneath first. I have very oily skin which leads to my foundation oxidizing within a few hours but I had no trouble with this foundation and I’m sure it’s probably because it’s geared towards those with oily skin that want to maintain a matte finish.

I used the foundation three times, each time was about 8 hours of wear and I have to say I am pleasantly surprised. Comparing to the old Stay Matte, Rimmel did a great improvement. I did get oily in my t-zone but that’s normal for me without touching up with a blotting sheet or powder. My bronzer/contour were still visible and my blush was still vibrant. I would recommend buying the foundation where they will allow returns for used products to see which shade would best suit your shade and undertone. For me this foundation is going back because I’m simple (aka lazy haha) and I would rather have a perfect match than to go through the trouble to make it usable.

I hope that was helpful to anyone interested in the foundation. If you have any questions or request, simply just comment below or e-mail me. Thanks so much for reading.

XOXO,
Steven

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

